Having a Baby TOMORROW!

Well first off, I’d just like to say that movie scene where the pregnant lady’s water breaks unexpectedly in public, always in public, is nothing to me but a big fat lie.   It’s what I was sincerely hoping for this time around (okay maybe not the public water breaking, but the unexpected labor and rush to the hospital) when I choose to have a VBAC. 

Yet here I sit at 40 weeks pregnant with no contractions and a date with my midwife in the morning so that she can break my water.  VBACs are apparently tricky business and she doesn’t want my little lady getting too big before making her grand debut.  Unlike her brother, she is in fact head down, but not to be completely outdone, she’s facing my front instead of my back.  What is it with these kids?

Given the state of my cervix currently, she feels strongly that the only thing keeping the contractions at bay is my water.  If she’s wrong and the breaking ceremony doesn’t put me into labor, it looks like I’ll be induced around noon.  And so help me if that doesn’t work and I end up having a c-section anyways, well I guess it won’t really matter so long as everyone comes out healthy.  But then I’ll have to say that all of those labor movie scenes are dead to me as well.

3 Responses to “Having a Baby TOMORROW!”

  1. kathy Says:

    Hooray! Not that we’re tooo anxious! Not to sound anything but mortified, but my water broke announcing the arrival of Dan while I was having dinner at Long John Silver’s. I never did go back and they closed the restaurant not long after that …hmmmmmm!

  2. Brooke Says:

    Congratulations and the best of luck to you! My water broke also to begin my labor with Lily, but fortunately I had just gotten home from shopping, so I was spared the public incident.

  3. Tanya Says:

    Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

