Home Stretch

Last week after my 37 week doctor’s appointment, I considered writing a post entitled “There’s a Party In My Pants” due to the fact that I was 1.5 cm dilated and 60% effaced and the midwife said it could be ANY DAY NOW.  Well I’m 38 weeks today, and I’m kind of glad I just continued to ignore the blog because not only is she still in there, but I don’t feel like she will be coming anytime soon.

20110802-IMG_1229 (2)

The only problem with this is that there’s a wedding that I’m the maid of honor in on Saturday.  My sister’s wedding to be exact.  It’s kind of a big deal to me (and probably to her) that I’m there.  But it’s in Tybee…about 4.5 hours drive away from the hospital where I’m to deliver…

Now if the baby comes before Saturday, and I have to miss it, at least I’ll feel like I have a pretty good excuse.  But if not, then I am faced with the super awesome decision of whether or not to chance it: drive over there Friday afternoon and back home Saturday evening or Sunday morning.  As it stands my midwife says to go;  that we’ll have plenty of time to make it back if I go into labor.  I’ll tell you Dan’s opinion on the matter:  “I’m not giving birth to our baby on the side of the highway.”  Seriously though, assuming I’m feeling how I am now on Friday, I think we’re going.  Is that crazy?

In other news I’m also in the home stretch of completing the blanket that I’ve been knitting for our little girl for about as long as I’ve been pregnant.  AKA FOREVER.  Only one more side to border which I’m knitting on as I go.  I pretty much love it.

20110802-IMG_1233

6 Responses to “Home Stretch”

  1. Susan Robbins Says:

    Hahaha! This sounds very similar to an experience I had last year:

    “Let’s go to Beth and Dan’s wedding. The doctor said everything is okay. It’s only 4.5 hours away and we’re only going to be gone for one night.”

    I’m pretty sure you know how that turned out :D
    You know I love you and I truly hope you are able to get there and back without any problems.

    • Beth Says:

      I definitely knew what your opinion would be on the matter Susan ;) I think about you every time I ponder the decision to stay or go.

  2. Ayana Says:

    I say go! I was in labor with my son for 27 hours. Spending 4.5 hours of that in the car would not have hurt him one bit. And that blanket is gorgeous, btw!

  3. Karen Dawson Says:

    Did you make it there..and back?

    I love, love, love the blanket!

    • Beth Says:

      Hi Karen and thanks!! I sure did make it there and back. I’m so glad I went. Now all I want to do is get down to business having this baby. Pictures soon…hopefully…

  4. ginni the cousin Says:

    Beth you crack me up…and i have been soooo bad about keeping up with my reading of all things Beth that I JUST found out you were preggers again from mom and dad after they found out from your mom!! Congrats on the upcoming baby GIRL!!! YAY!! I love you!! cuz gin

Leave a Reply

