All Id at 20 Months

20110227-IMG_0135

Dear Boogs,

It’s getting harder to sit down and write about you because I feel like unless I wrote a book (and maybe even then) that I wouldn’t do you justice.  You’ve become so complicated and awesome with all of your speaking and mimicking and curiosity and tantrums.  It’s like overnight we’ve got our own little independent person living here.  You know what you want (and what you don’t) and you’re getting better every day at communicating with us on such matters.

In some ways this makes things easier and in other ways makes it so much harder because, no matter how stinking cute you are when you ask for something, we’re having to learn to say “no” (which you seem to have no trouble with at all) and show you who’s boss.  And so the true challenges of parenthood begin: making sure that we don’t allow you to become one of those heathen children that we see on Super Nanny…because every now and again we totally get a glimpse of how that can happen.  Just know that in 10 or 20 years when it appears that we have our parenting act together (hopefully) that it wasn’t always that way.  Almost every day I have a “what the hell do I do now” moment.

But generally speaking you are just so fun and smart and all the people in your life absolutely love being around you.  I’ve had strangers on the playground tell me that you have the best laugh and most of the time I get requests for babysitting rather than having to ask.  You’re just pure joy to be around and live with reckless abandon – it’s refreshing.  It’s without a doubt one of the qualities in you that I will be sad to see dwindle as you learn about the realities of the world.  But it’s just another thing to take from this moment in your life I guess.

While it’s getting harder to capture some of your finer moments on camera (because you do not sit still and you do not perform),

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention a few of my favorites that I hope to never forget:

  • Hills – You love to run down hills.  The steeper and thus more out of control you are the better.  You laugh the entire time.
    20110227-IMG_0164 20110227-IMG_0165
  • Books – You are a voracious reader.  Every night before bed you pull every single book off the shelf in your room and look through them.  You completely tune out the world during this ritual.  One night your dad wanted to see how loud he would have to say your name to get you to respond.  When he finally got your attention, you turned around and started crying.
  • Book Smarts – You can identify all of your letters and you love to do so.  You can count to ten with assistance in English and Spanish.  I’ve learned Spanish words from you.
  • Manners – You say thank you (pronounced “tank you”) not only when I hand you something, but anytime you hand me something.
  • Affection – It’s like you’re trying to eat our faces.
    Unhinge that jaw
  • Potty Training – It’s really non-existent at this point but you have pee-peed on the potty once (and I had an entire conversation with your doctor, aka an adult, where I repeatedly said pee-pee and poo-poo which in hindsight still makes me chuckle).  You still prefer the tub even though the potty is RIGHT THERE.
  • Technology – You’ve discovered the TV and the iPad.  Enough said.
  • Cheers – We taught you to “cheers”.  And like a lot of things we show you, you made us immediately regret it by continuing it through the whole dinner.
    Cheers
  • Copy-cat – If I’m brushing my teeth, you have to be brushing your   teeth which means of course that you floss now too.  If I take a drink at the dinner table and say “ahhh”, then you take a drink and say “ahhh”.  If the dog next door is panting from chasing the ball that you keep throwing, then you will pant while continuing to throw the ball.  I blow on your food to cool it down, and every once in a while I catch you blowing on your food too.
    Another person you like to ape
  • The inhumanity of it all – You’ve very recently started to throw yourself on the floor when you don’t get your way (I can’t believe kids actually do this!?!).  I hope pity isn’t what you’re going for because it makes your dad and I laugh every time.
  • Things You Say – This embodies most of your awesomeness because even if it’s not particularly groundbreaking stuff (sometimes it’s still just a gibberish sentence said with utter confidence), it still catches us off guard and allows your personality to shine through.  You’re constantly asking us “what’s that?” which at first I thought was just a game for you, but now I think you’re actually listening when we answer as you’re learning so much.  My favorite is when you give us commands (mama sit, dada swing, ruuun [all the way to the neighborhood playground]) and yell for us by name and point where you want us.

New challenges are definitely there, but I wouldn’t trade “easy” infant Aiden for this new toddler Aiden any day of the week.  I guess I did write a book.  Just so proud…

Love,

Mama

20110227-IMG_0169

18 month well-visit stats taken at 19 months finally brought to you at 20 months:

Height: 33 3/4 in (75-90%)

Weight: 29.5 lbs (75-90%)

Head: 49.5 cm (90%)

 

20110227-IMG_0163

2 Responses to “All Id at 20 Months”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Aiden, you are absolutly an amazing kid. I love you more and more each day. Love you bunches kido:) Aunt Beby

  2. kathy Says:

    Once again, oh how I wish I could be there to share in your joy. All of your writings bring back such clear and vivid memories of years gone by that I can’t help but wonder if that lump in my throat is caused by the love I have for my wonderful and obviously extraordinary grandchild, or the pain I feel for no longer having a son who could look at me with his own awe and wonder at all the fantastic things his mom knows. Revel in the love you feel for him, and always understand that forever you will know that he is undoubtedly the best thing you ever made with an egg!

Leave a Reply

