New Traditions

In spending last Thanksgiving on the farm with several generations of Louches, I was distracted from the fact that last year was the first Thanksgiving to occur without either of my grandparents (at least the only grandparents I ever really knew).  I’ll admit that in their later years, I wasn’t as close with them as I probably should have been, but if there was one holiday that I could always count on seeing them  (and aunts and uncles and likely a cousin or two), it was Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving in Dahlonega 2008

Well this year we decided to stay in Atlanta for Thanksgiving and much without thinking, I offered to cook dinner for my immediate family.  It didn’t occur to me until the day of that the need for such hospitality was due largely to a great hole in our family.  The day just didn’t feel as exciting or important as it had in years past (and not just because we gathered on Saturday instead of Thursday ;).  It felt small and humble as we started down the long road to building new traditions.

Thankgiving Dinner 2010

I’m not going to say that we succeeded in a single year as traditions as good as those of the last 30 or so years are not easily replaced, but I will say that this was definitely the first year the words “penis”, “titties” AND “vagina” were used at the Thanksgiving dinner table   (thanks Dad!).  How’s that for a new tradition?

PawPaw slays him...
Yes, even the baby thought it was funny.

My First Turkey 

My first turkey.  19 lbs.  Good thing there are no pictures of me with the raw turkey because I may have thrown up in my mouth a little when I had to touch it.

2 Responses to “New Traditions”

  1. kathy Says:

    Your bird looks yummy. Wish we lived closer!

    • Beth Says:

      Wish you guys could have been there too. But we’re excited to have you guys up for a long Christmas break. We should have just included Thanksgiving in that and made it a loooong holiday vacation.

Leave a Reply

