New Car Seat Day

I remember back nearly a year ago being fairly pregnant and visiting our friend Paula in DC.  At the time she had an 8 month old daughter and  was transitioning her into a “big-girl” car seat.  Despite having to lug around a heavy chair with an even heavier baby, she told us she was actually missing the convenience of the infant car seat.  I remember so clearly having this conversation back then.  Dan and I smiled and nodded and pretended to understand what she was going though, but really we were clueless.  Fast forward to today and here we are with our 8 month old little man sitting EXACTLY in Paula’s shoes.

8 months

We picked up his “big-boy” car seat today.  Aiden is quickly outgrowing the infant seat (mostly in length) and at eight months is doing a pretty good job of sitting up by himself.  This means we can feel pretty comfortable being out without his seat since we can do things like this when we’re shopping:

Shopping Cart at BRU

And this when we’re eating out:

High Chair at Five Guys

What you can’t see in the picture above was the old couple sitting close by watching, wondering why I was taking a million pictures of Aiden in his high chair playing with lids and Splenda packets.  Finally I looked over at them and was all like “WHAT!?!  It’s his first time in a restaurant high chair OKAY!”.  They smiled and nodded (like we used to do pre-baby), but I still think they thought I was one crazy mom.

Happy 8 months, Aiden!

3 Responses to “New Car Seat Day”

  1. kathy truhn Says:

    Sitting in a high chair is such a big deal!!! I remember well when Aiden’s dad was new to high chairs and while having dinner at a Chinese restaurant his brother crawled under the table to retreive an errant toy and screeched in a LOUD voice “Mom, you should see all the rice dana spilled on the floor. You won’t believe it.” After leaving a rediculously big tip, we all slinked out of the door. Your real fun is just beginning.

  2. Lisa Louche' Says:

    Glad to see his first restaurant adventure was in our favorite pizza joint!

  3. Paula Says:

    I hope you’re making the transition well. And I feel so honored to be mentioned in a posting! I’m happy to report the transition wasn’t as horrible as I feared it would be. It does get better fairly quick. I just used a stroller more. Warmer weather and a child that can walk definitely make the big kid carseat easier as well.

    I love reading your posts! You guys seem to have adjusted to parenthood wonderfully. I can see the happiness in your pictures. I can’t wait to see it with my own eyes!

    Paula

Leave a Reply

