Changing Diapers

At my baby shower sometime back someone asked me if I was going to be one of those “crazy” people that uses cloth diapers to which I quickly replied “no”.  Truthfully I was very uninformed on the matter because sadly back then the thought never even crossed my mind to use anything but disposables.  Now that I’ve had a baby for 5 months, however, I’ve become extremely aware of the amount of waste that is generated using disposable diapers.  And while I’ve never considered myself to be a crazy environmentalist by any stretch, I just can’t seem to ignore the large, smelly output of our house since Aiden came along.   It’s getting to the point where I’m starting to feel guilty when I change Aiden’s diaper unless it’s full to the brim, yet I feel guilty if I allow it to get that way.

So after I recently found out that babies are in diapers for 2-3 years (yes, I’m that clueless), I started looking into my options, and as it turns out, cloth diapering has really come a long way since the days when my parents did it.  It’s actually overwhelming the number of options that you have, many of which are basically washable disposables.  So because I don’t have enough laundry already, I’ve decided to slowly make the transition to exclusively using cloth diapers as we rid ourselves of the remaining size 2 diapers that we have.

Now I know that I have a small audience out there, many of which have either already raised their kids or do not yet have any, but if you’re interested in any of the research I’ve done (or know someone who might be), please let me know.  Like I said, it can be very overwhelming at first and if you’re not a research junkie like me you might quickly give up on the cause.  But I’m so excited about this that I’m just dying to help someone get started so please don’t hesitate to ask.  Of course you may want to talk to me in a month or two after I’ve actually used the diapers, but for anyone that’s curious, here are the top 5 things that helped me decide to try cloth:

1.  Less trash.  2-3 kids in diapers for 2-3 years = a lot of crap

2.  You can get a diaper that is just as easy  and convenient to use as a disposable and one diaper can adjust to fit your child through potty-training.

3.  There are very simple ways to avoid getting your hands into large amounts of poop (I think all parents know there’s no way to avoid poop altogether).  The washing machine does nearly all of the work.

4.  Soft, chemical free cotton on my babies bottom.

5.  Cloth diapers are really freaking adorable.

2 Responses to “Changing Diapers”

  1. The Money Pit « Tiny House Project Says:

    […] decided that having a baby generates too much waste and has switched our son over to cloth diapers (https://thelouchefamily.wordpress.com/2009/12/03/changing-diapers/) . Now I just need to convince her to move into a tiny house […]

  2. The Money Pit | Tiny Home Builders Blog Says:

    […] decided that having a baby generates too much waste and has switched our son over to cloth diapers (https://thelouchefamily.wordpress.com/2009/12/03/changing-diapers/) . Now I just need to convince her to move into a tiny […]

Leave a Reply

