Aiden’s 1st Week

Boy what a week!  Since I had to have a c-section we had to spend the first 3 days of Aiden’s life in the hospital.  This was an emotional three days for me as a lot was going on around me and I could barely get out of bed.  Due to my immobility, Aiden and I spent most of our first moments together getting the hang of breastfeeding.  As one of my biggest pre-baby concerns, I am happy to say that it’s been going really well.  Turns out that both Aiden and I are naturals; he likes to eat and I make good stuff.  Yay!  At his first pediatrician appointment on July 8th he was only 4 ounces below his birth weight (6 lbs 12 ozs) which I was told was really good for only being a week old.

Since I was pretty much just a milk factory for the first few days (and nights), I got the pleasure of watching Dan perfect the art of the diaper change in the hospital.  I will never forget watching him take his first lesson from the nurse and then trying it out for himself.  It was really funny stuff, but he took it like a champ. 

We came home from the hospital around noon on July 4th.  We were really excited to introduce Aiden to the dogs.  They were extremely interested in the little man and snuck in quite a few sniffs and kisses.  Shortly after arriving home, my mom and dad came over.  My mom stayed over and my dad took off work that first full week home to help us out given my post-surgery condition.  It was awesome having them here and quite honestly I’m not sure I would have made it through the week without them. 

Probably my favorite part of the week came on July 10th when Aiden’s cord fell out and we got to give him his first real bath.  Needless to say he was not a happy camper, but we’re hoping he learns to like it.  He smelled delicious just in time for Grandma Bear and Rick to stop in from Lakeland, FL for a visit.

Leave a Reply

